Skip to content

HFW win Maritime Lawyer of the Year at the Lloyd’s List Global Awards 2016

6 October 2016

Holman Fenwick Willan won the Maritime Lawyer of the Year 2016 at the Lloyd’s List Global Awards, held at the National Maritime Museum in Greenwich on 28 September. The awards were attended by 450 industry professionals and were hosted by Fiona Bruce.

The Maritime Lawyer of the Year Award, as sponsored by i-Law, celebrates the very best in the legal profession who have offered the highest quality service to the maritime industry over the past 12 months.

The judges felt that Holman Fenwick Willan exemplified the variety of the industry through a range of cases, in particular advising Cargill International in the successful Supreme Court application developing the laws surrounding off-hire provision in an amended NYPE form, as led by Partner Brian Perrott, and advising the owner of a large fleet of bulkers, tankers and container vessels who were affected by the high profile bankruptcy of OW bunkers, as led by Partner Matt Illingworth.

In addition Partner Daniel Martin, who collected the award on the night, was highlighted in regards to his work with the firm’s export controls and sanctions practice, particularly concerning Iran, North Korea, Sudan, Libya, Syria, Ukraine and Russia, which continues to be a fast paced area of law with significant opportunities.

In his opening speech, Richard Meade, managing editor of Lloyd’s List said ‘The Lloyd’s List award series are about bringing our business community together. It’s about celebrating our combined achievements, but it’s also about recognising the transformation that is happening across our businesses. At Lloyd’s List we think that the future belongs to those who can successfully tap into the opportunities that this transformation presents.’

Recipients are chosen from entries taken from around the world and adjudicated by a distinguished judging panel which this year included: Robert Ashdown, Secretary-General, International Association of Classification Societies; Andreas Chrysostomou, Director, Department of Shipping, Cyprus; Angus Frew, CEO, Bimco; Lars Green, CEO, Green Consulting Group; Helle Hammer, Managing Director, Cefor9The Nordic Association of Marine Insurers); David Hammond, CEO, Human Rights at Sea; Esben Poulsson, President, Singapore Shipping Association; Katharina Stanzel, Managing Director, Intertanko; Katy Ware, Permanent Representative of the UK, Maritime and Coastguard Agency; Chris Welsh MBE, Secretary-General, Global Shippers’ Forum; Niko Wijnolst, Professor (emeritus), Eramus University, Rotterdam.

The awards are managed by Lloyd’s List – leading maritime commerce since 1734. – Lloyd’s List provides information, analysis and knowledge for business decision makers in a changing and increasingly complex shipping environment.

To see the full list of Lloyd’s List Awards winners please visit:

For further information please contact: Craig Neame, Partner, on +44 (0)20 7264 8338, or email, or Samantha Maher, Marketing Communications Manager, on
+44 (0)20 7264 8148, or email